Current Research Projects


Nanoparticle Plasmonics

 SPR.pngThe classical surface plasmon resonance (SPR) excitations dominate the optical response of metallic nanoparticles. The wavelength of the SPR absorption strongly depends on the size and geometry of the nanoparticles. This facilitates precise tuning of the SPR peak at desired wavelengths. Our project focuses on systematic calculations of nanoparticles with core-shell structures.

Fluctuations in Small Systems

Phase Field Crystal Model

Phase Field Crystal (PFC) models extend the traditional Phase Field (PF) models to account for microscopic details of crystalline solids such as elasticity or grain boundary energies. They bring diffusive time scales into the scope allowing for studying of such phenomena as vacancy diffusion, crystal growth or grain rotation.

phiave.png An order parameter field of a rotated grain within a crystal shrinking and turning as it approaches equilibrium state. White spots correspond to liquid-like regions.
comp1.png Phase-field crystal model of a strained Cu overlayer on Ru(0001) surface. The blue and red colors indicate the two different sublattices for Cu adsorbates, which are separates by yellow domain walls (incommensurate regions).



Ice Friction

Charged Liquids

Oxidation & Corrosion

Lattice-Bolzmann methodology


Polymer Escape


A polymer escaping from the metastable potential well.

Polymer Translocation

Thermohydrodynamics of Boiling


A growing bubble of steam (blue) growing in water (orange) in contact with a hot plate (black surface). The bubble dynamics is faithfully modeled by numerically solving the full set of full, compressible thermohydrodynamic Navier-Stokes equations developed in collaboration with the group of G. Amberg at The Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden [T. Laurila et al., Phys. Rev. E vol. 85, 026320 (2012)]. Inset shows the adaptive numerical grid at the two-phase interface.

Page content by: communications-phys [at] aalto [dot] fi (Department of Physics) | Last updated: 16.12.2015.